Inter Nachi

Syndicate content InterNACHI Inspection Forum
This is the official InterNACHI message board.
Updated: 6 years 6 weeks ago

Too hot in Boulder today, so I climbed 13,000 feet with some help from...

Mon, 07/08/2013 - 04:33
...my KTM. Had to jet it for altitude. I brought a jacket.
Attached Thumbnails  

Valleys cut wrong; report verbiage

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 21:49
Was wondering if anyone has some report verbiage they could share for when the shingles in a cut valley are cut wrong in refenence to the larger or smaller planes of the roof and also if you recommend correction. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails  

First for me

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 20:50
On Friday I just started going over the agreement at the inspection, and the Realtor says, "shes falling!" I look over and grab my client (buyer) just before she hits the floor. She fainted and was out for about 30 seconds.
Apparently I am doing something wrong and have to change my delivery...

Can/ or should detached garages be included in lineal footage calculations for roof

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 19:22
Can/ or should detached garages be included in lineal footage calculations for roof types. If so I would like an idea where this approached is justified-listed on an approved course etc. I am doing battle with an underwriter.
thanks,
Rob

Members Who Plan to Pledge to Protect the Privacy of the Home Buyer

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 18:31
There is an affidavit being prepared and a logo to avail to home inspectors, vendors and other industry professionals who are willing to publicly pledge that they will not solicit or exchange their clients' personal information to anyone for any form of compensation, direct or indirect - and that they will not add any language to their inspection agreements that could waive or otherwise interfere with the rights of their clients under a "no call" list.

Participation is strictly voluntary and is not limited to or restricted of any particular association.

If you plan to participate and would like to promote that fact to the public, please feel free to indicate it here, if you wish.

[P.S. I doubt that the inspectors who oppose this would actually be wanting to do that, publicly, but I provided the opportunity for a "No" vote just in case they did ... and to be fair.]

Special thanks to Nick and Staff!

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 18:31
In the mail, I received my 5 Year Pin! This means a ton to me, and thanks to Nick and the Staff! (I"m sure the staff does all the work anyway)
Attached Thumbnails  

Nick Gromicko Your Opinion Is Wanted

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 17:26
OK, first let preempt by saying this is absolutely not an attack on anyone or any business. This is simply a request for the opinion of Mr. Nick Gromicko the founder of InterNACHI which is the largest Home Inspector association in the world.

Nick what is your opinion on a Certified, Professional Home Inspector selling for money, gifts, other products or any other type of compensation, their clients Private/personal information to a third party who may use that information for their own purposes?

Thew question is NOT directed towards any specific products, the question is simply about the selling of clients persona;/private data to any third party.

Nick I know you made some opinions clear a few months back when you yourself started the thread about HON. I am assuming you still think this is an important subject to address.

Please don't spin anything anyone, I really want a straight answer/opinion from Nick as many of us here value his opinions.

Thanks

Jim

Wind Mit form

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 16:31
Just wondering what programs or options are out there to fill out the wind mit form. I use HIP, but I do not want to use the iphone app. Should I buy a pdf filler to fill out the form or buy a program like windsurance? and with an online program like that do I need to get the clients signiture online, how do I get them to fill out the form if I do it all online? thanks in advance for any tips.

Has Anyone Received Threats From Dingleberry ?

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 02:32
????????????

Are these horizontal cracks in the foundation dangerous?

Sun, 07/07/2013 - 02:15
My family and I have just moved into a duplex that we’re renting. The house is joined to another house. We share one wall with the other house. We’re not in a row of townhouses.

I’m not a structural engineer, but have concerns about the foundation of the house. I’ve heard that horizontal cracks are bad in a foundation and we have some very long ones in the foundation that span the length of entire walls. One of these wall long cracks on one of the west walls extends right into the south wall and continues on. I’ve attempted to attach pictures of this particular crack to this post, but seem unable to.

The cracks have been patched/filled with concrete at some point, and it looks like the filled concrete has been sanded down to smooth it out, so it’s really hard to tell how wide the cracks actually are. The foundation walls don’t appear to be bowing, but I’d like to understand better whether or not the cracks are dangerous. There’s also vertical cracks in the foundation.

I know it’s hard to judge from just photographs, but are these cracks dangerous, considering that the walls are flat and flush? What’s the difference between a horizontal crack that’s dangerous and one that’s not? Or are all horizontal cracks something to be concerned about?

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to reply.

Pervious concrete to provide polluting runoffs

Sat, 07/06/2013 - 23:01
Been out for awhile, but pretty amazing to see the water disappear;

http://www.sciencefriday.com/segment...king-lots.html:)

I guess screw jacks are acceptable now!!

Sat, 07/06/2013 - 21:38
Attachment 66642

Attachment 66643

:)
Attached Thumbnails    

777 Plane Crash in San Fransisco

Sat, 07/06/2013 - 20:01
Plane crash in SF. Looks like survivors.

http://news.yahoo.com/boeing-777-cra...192023098.html

Trajedy in Lac-Magantic

Sat, 07/06/2013 - 19:00
http://montreal.ctvnews.ca/unmanned-...cted-1.1356290
Question what really did happen!!!!
How many lives lost is not determined at this time.

Is this right?

Sat, 07/06/2013 - 18:57
I've been studying using the exam tool and came across the question and answer below. I thought efficiency was increased by pulling more heat out out of the combustion process which would DECREASE temperature of flue gas. Am I wrong?


Question: High-efficiency gas furnaces improve heating efficiency by _____

answer: increasing air flow and the temperature of flue-gas exhaust

furnace date for Air ease?

Sat, 07/06/2013 - 02:33
Anybody help me with the date of this Air Ease furnace date?
Serial # 8400m11991

thanks

Indirect waste and trap for a dishwasher

Sat, 07/06/2013 - 01:20
Anyone seen something like this before for a dishwasher discharge?

Attachment 66633:)
Attached Thumbnails  

Interesting Object on roof -

Fri, 07/05/2013 - 23:38
Found this on a roof today - Completely baffled - No openings - can not see under as it is finished to rafter underneath - However entertaining I am not interested if you think it maybe some sort of Alien Antenna of "unknown origin" type of item - LOL :D. BUT, if you got an idea I would love to see it.
OH - and there is no drainage system below the "said" item. I think I have an Idea but was wondering what others had in mind.
Attached Thumbnails    

Fixture on Wall

Fri, 07/05/2013 - 21:00
Can anybody tell me what this fixture on a condo bedroom wall in California is?
Attached Thumbnails  

Screwed main breaker

Fri, 07/05/2013 - 17:14
I suspect the screw is to flush the breakers, but is there an issue?
Attached Thumbnails