News

My tribute to 4th of July PIC.

Inter Nachi - Fri, 07/05/2013 - 02:11
Happy 4th!
Attached Thumbnails  

Crawlspace Inspection

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 20:46
Recently I have inspected two homes with no crawlspace access. Both clients back out on the deal due to not knowing what it looks like under the house, very understandable. Does anyone out there have a camera devise or something they use to inspect 10 to 12 inch crawls? I'm not sure a camera would do a good enough job for the liability involved.

Sky-high house prices surround China's top schools - Clarksville Leaf Chronicle

Clarksville Real Estate - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 17:58

Sky-high house prices surround China's top schools
Clarksville Leaf Chronicle
"So many people these days ask for 'school district housing,' even before they marry," says Wang, 26, the boss of two real estate shops who is close to closing with a couple who want their son, an only child under China's strict family planning regime ...

and more »

Clipped Gable wind mit

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 15:48
Need a little advice. Inspected a home with a clipped gable roof on all four sides. What hurricane strap photos does one take? The strap tieing down the gabel wall? That seems to be all I can Identify at this point?

Thanks in advance.

How to Inspect the Exterior, 23.5 error.

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 14:59
How to Inspect the Exterior, 23.5 states:

"For example, according to the psychrometric chart, air at 68º F (20º C) with 0.216 ounces of water (H2O) per pound of air (14.8g H2O ÷ kg air) has a 100% RH. The same air at 59º F (15º C) reaches 100% RH with only 0.156 ounces of water per pound of air (10.7g H2O ÷ kg air). The colder air holds about 28% of the moisture that the warmer air does."

This isn't quite right. The colder air holds 28% LESS moisture than the warm air. Not 28% of the warm air moisture. 28% of the arm air moisture would only be .06 ounces of water per pound of air.

InterNACHI's Next Infrared Certified Webinar

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 14:55
InterNACHI's Next Infrared Certified Webinar will be on July 27-28, 3013.
We still have openings for the first 7 students to get a $30 discount.

Click for details.

New design out of beta

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 14:02
Hey everyone,

First off, happy Independence Day! We just took the new site design out of beta. Let us know in this thread if you notice any bugs. The forum is only partially switched over—it's loading the new "shell" but we haven't made the full redesign live. (Expect that in the next couple of weeks.)

The new design is lightweight and leverages the latest web technologies. That means that the site is going to be a little faster, a little cleaner, and a little more consistent in look-and-feel. It also means that the site is fully responsive—open it up on your iPhone or Android and it'll squeeze down nicely. The current forum design isn't fully responsive yet, but that's coming soon!

This new design will also allow us to do a bunch of interesting things in the future. This is the first step towards making the site a little easier to navigate, and keeping all the pieces of the site consistent. Our exam and education systems will be migrated over to the new site in the coming months, for example.

We're really happy with the new design, and we're excited about the new features it will let us quickly add in the future. I hope y'all enjoy it, too!

Cheers,

Happy Fourth of July

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 13:46
Best wishes to all over this Holiday.

:):D

On tax breaks for developers, you can't beat City Hall - Baltimore Sun

Clarksville Real Estate - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 12:56

On tax breaks for developers, you can't beat City Hall
Baltimore Sun
This one is over Harbor Point and whether City Hall should sell $107 million in bonds and use the money to aid the development of a billion-dollar project on what has been called the primo piece of commercial real estate on the East Coast. ... City ...

Building on again at Birch III - Yellow Springs News

Clarksville Real Estate - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 09:03

Building on again at Birch III
Yellow Springs News
According to Crabill and Birch III realtor Rick Kristensen, the development is also unique in the local real estate market because it features new custom and semi-custom houses. “This is there for people to build their dream home,” Kristensen said. “We ...

Congratulations to the Egyptian people. Obama backs the wrong (losing) side again.

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 07:06
Congratulations to the people and their military who worked together.

Plumbing vent capped - Questions

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 00:35
Ok I need a second opinion here. The vent is capped off and is in close proximity of a window. This is over a garage with a bathroom and laundry room in close proximity. Attic over garage is inaccessible so pipe could not be traced. Any thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails    

Thanks For Your Input

Inter Nachi - Thu, 07/04/2013 - 00:28
Please keep posting your opinions on this fleecing of the home inspection industry.

Any thoughts on this?

Inter Nachi - Wed, 07/03/2013 - 22:43
Attachment 66587

Attachment 66588
Attached Thumbnails    

Throwing out this concept for discussion

Inter Nachi - Wed, 07/03/2013 - 20:41
With all the hoopla regarding alarm lead sales, data sharing, data collection, incentives, kickbacks, undisclosed compensation, and secret relationships, I began thinking of a marketing concept for those inspectors who choose not to participate in these sort of programs.

Everyone is aware that data, the internet, and privacy seems to slip away by the hour. There is talk iin our own industry regarding the reall possibity that client data is being brokered to contractors of all shapes and sizes.

I find it all a bit perturbing.

So, I got to thinking. What if there was a program whereby inspectors could pledge not to do this sort of thing. You know. The Client is king and their information beloings to them, and no others.

Now, all of this is premature, and the program hasn't rolled out yet. Hell, we don't really even have a real logo or tagline. But, I think it would be an interesting prospect, when every other inspector has all these widgets and marketing thingy's attached to "distinguish" them from the rest. I wonder how many clients or prospective clients would appreciate knowing that their information is being brokered to someone for a fee. Or worse yet, what would they think of they found out that you (the inspector) was receiving an incentive or kickback?

I may even roll this into a discount program for those who may subscribe to the arbitration service.

Anyway, it's just a thought. And it is VERY different from what we've been seeing of late.



This is timely in light of the ADT offer thread, as well as the brochures NACHI has with regard to why someone should hire a NACHI Certified Inspector.

Something to think about.

There is a thread in members only on this subject. I wanted to move it into the public section of the message board, as it will be available to most anyone who chooses to not participate in these programs.

Testing Breakers

Inter Nachi - Wed, 07/03/2013 - 20:34
I've never heard of this being promoted before. Please let me know what you think of the first article
http://www.homehintsenews.com/enews/...1c8b9b&N=53724

New video: How to start a free, online course through your members-only account

Inter Nachi - Wed, 07/03/2013 - 18:36
Learn how InterNACHI members start a free, online course through their members-only account.

Watch this 1-minute video:
www.nachi.org/start-course.htm

Is a drip leg required on a gas line to the furnace or the water heater in Calif?

Inter Nachi - Wed, 07/03/2013 - 17:44
Does code require a drip leg on gas lines in Ca.

New video: How to download course certificates of completion

Inter Nachi - Wed, 07/03/2013 - 16:50
Members can watch this 1-minute video to learn how to download their course certificates of completion:
http://www.nachi.org/certificatesofcompletion.htm

Everyday People: Home inspector stays nimble on the job - OregonLive.com

Google Home Inspector News - Wed, 07/03/2013 - 16:11

Everyday People: Home inspector stays nimble on the job
OregonLive.com
He trained as a home inspector through the National Institute of Building Inspectors and worked for a franchise for six years before starting his own business, Eagle Eye Inspections. Giblin's construction days taught him a lot about how to build a home ...

Syndicate content