News

Facebook Likes

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 23:24
Please like my facebook page and I will like back. Thanks
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tropi...333232?fref=ts

Condo/Townhome in Nashville, TN asking $153,000

FSBO Brentwood - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 08:36
632 2nd Avenue Nashville, TN 37210 715 sq. ft., 1 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms, 6 photo(s)

DANGER Solar Backfeed

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 05:34
I've not yet inspected a home with solar and saw this posted at the main breaker panel. What the heck does it mean? Advise on comment would be a big help. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails  

Tankless water heater

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 04:57
The home owner had installed a tankless water heater in the attic hard piped through the existing 50 gal tank of the old water heater in the hallway. I'd never seen that. What would be the purpose of installing it this way?

Condensate pump

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 04:41
At my inspection today I saw a few things I had not seen. One was a condensate pump at the base of the air handler with no drip pan. The pump was set up to pump water up through the attic and out of the home, maybe a run of 25'. Has anyone seen this? Any advise on comments?
Attached Thumbnails  

Inspection Dejavu

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 02:57
I live and work in a very small town, just over 3000 with very few home inspectors. I recently inspected a home that my client decided to pass on. So it is well within the scope of possibility that I could be hired to inspect this same home again by another interested party. So my question is how to professionally deal with this? It would be completely redundant to do another inspection as I already have the information. But to simply edit the report to the new client seems not right either. Perhaps that at a reduced rate?

I'm looking forward to reading your thoughts.

Steven

Door that separates garage from living area

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 02:19
I saw your article about Attached Garage Fire Containment (http://www.nachi.org/attached-garage-fire-hazards.htm) but it didn't mention which way the door should swing -- into the garage or into the living area? Or doesn't it matter?

Ministry of Consumer Services meeting June 25th

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 00:55
The meeting held in Toronto, On by the Ministry of Consumer Services was an informative stepping stone for all home inspectors in Ontario. I have attached a PDF file for everyone with the key points of the meeting.

At the stage the key issue for InterNACHI is ensuring we have a seat on the panel to decide the regulations for the province. This panel is yet to be chosen, but I have no doubt InterNACHI will be represented.
Attached Files June25MCS.pdf (144.3 KB)

Back from the car wash !

Inter Nachi - Thu, 06/27/2013 - 00:18
whew........long day, had one in the red dirt land, she's clean and full of new oil, ready to go ! Couple more and I'll get that little gaint i've been day dreaming about. And I don't think she will mined lugging it around !!!
Attached Thumbnails  

Does Anyone Have A Report That I could Look At?

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 23:36
I would like to get into the commercial market and I would like to get all of my ducks in a row before I venture out. Any help is appreciated.

Steve

This message board just topped 36,000 registered users and 15 million unique visitors

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 23:29
36,000 registered users... and more than 15 million unique visitors.

Onwards and upwards!

Great Job - Jessica , Erica and Team!

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 22:48
Thank you so much for the great brochures and business cards. When I visited a realtor last week, I walked in and introduced myself. I handed them the brochures and business cards you created, plus explaining to them "I am truly passionate about home inspections and also working with newer agents - and getting them up to speed in the areas of 4-point and wind mitigation in Florida". I also spend some time talking about the "Move In Certified" procedure and how it can save many headaches in the closing process. The Realtor/Broker on duty stuck my brochures ahead another in the small rack which speaks volumes. It's funny, the two more experienced agents (one, the owners wife) scheduled me for an inspection - but my offering as well as excellent marketing material made all the difference. As a still relatively new inspector (less than a year), I have two inspections booked with this agent in a week.

Sincerely,
Jeff Scott
SureSpect Home Inspection
561-386-4171

What is this?

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 22:12
Attachment 66401
Attached Thumbnails  

In the last two months...

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 20:55
We found 3 recalls, which in total, resulted in 162 fires that caused property damage. 7 were described as extensive property damage. 4 injuries were associated with the recalls including 3 smoke inhalation injuries and one serious hand laceration. We provided the number our clients need to call to get these appliances repaired for free.

Two clients thanked me for the discounts we help them get on alarm systems.

1 client benefited from the 90 day warranty. AHS declined his claim and of course the 90 day warranty we provided him covered it.

We want to be there when our clients need us. :)

New logo for Wittco Inspections

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 20:17
InterNACHI Design & Print Services: http://printservices.nachi.org/

Website Design & Support:
inspectorpages.com

Marketing contact:
jessica@internachi.org
Attached Thumbnails  

Double keyed dead bolt

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 15:36
Is there a rule against having a double keyed deadbolt on an exterior door? Seems like common sence not to due to having to egress a building in an emergency and needing a key to do it could be hazardious to your health. Cant find it in my codecheck book and it comes up from time to time.
Thanks

Vent Stack Question

Inter Nachi - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 15:35
In the photos, you'll see a vent stack on the ridge. I'm fairly sure that is acceptable (correct me if I'm wrong). But, the next photo shows a plumbing stack beside the ridge vent. I'm concerned about the ridge vent having a negative effect on the draft of the stack vent. I haven't found anything saying how for a plumbing stack must be from a vented ridge. Is it OK as is or is their documentation (code or otherwise) stating that it's not right?

Thanks in advance,
Reece
Attached Thumbnails    

Southern Indiana loses a leader - Newsandtribune

Clarksville Real Estate - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 10:37

Southern Indiana loses a leader
Newsandtribune
The Southern Indiana real estate community lost one of its finest leaders on Monday when Suzann Slayton, of Clarksville, died. She was 74. Slayton leaves behind a husband, three children, four grandchildren and two great-grandchildren, along with a ...
Southern Indiana Business Leader DiesInside INdiana Business (press release)

all 2 news articles »

Condo/Townhome in Nashville, IN asking $146,500

FSBO Brentwood - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 08:46
2370 Fairway Drive Nashville, IN 47448 1166 sq. ft., 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 40 photo(s)

Single Family in Smyrna, TN asking $416,000

FSBO Brentwood - Wed, 06/26/2013 - 08:46
111 Oak Hill Drive Smyrna, TN 37167 4878 sq. ft., 5 bedrooms, 4.5 bathrooms, 6 photo(s)
Syndicate content