News

Single Family in Clarksville, TN asking $540,000

FSBO - Tue, 07/02/2013 - 08:36
1222 Madison St Clarksville, TN 37040 3000 sq. ft., 3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, 31 photo(s)

Home inspector gets ASHI certification - Herald & Review

Google Home Inspector News - Mon, 07/01/2013 - 12:08

Home inspector gets ASHI certification
Herald & Review
Home inspector gets ASHI certification. Print Email. 2013-07-01T07:00:00Z Home inspector gets ASHI certification Herald-Review.com. July 01, 2013 7:00 am. (0) Comments. DECATUR — Jason Warnick of Pristine Inspections & Testing, a local firm that ...

Single Family in Clarksville, TN asking $89,450

FSBO - Mon, 07/01/2013 - 08:37
102 Eaglewood Court Clarksville, TN 37042 1100 sq. ft., 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 6 photo(s)

Single Family in Mount Juliet, TN asking $381,000

FSBO Brentwood - Mon, 07/01/2013 - 08:37
1110 Camden Circle Mount Juliet, TN 37122 3689 sq. ft., 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 35 photo(s)

Single Family in Brentwood, TN asking $234,900

FSBO Brentwood - Mon, 07/01/2013 - 08:37
8025 Mandan Drive Brentwood, TN 37027 2492 sq. ft., 3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, 39 photo(s)

West Milford home inspector tells sellers what they need to know - NorthJersey.com

Google Home Inspector News - Mon, 07/01/2013 - 05:10

NorthJersey.com

West Milford home inspector tells sellers what they need to know
NorthJersey.com
Radon testing, insect inspections, chimney assessment…oh, my! These are just part of a routine day for Mark E. Noble, owner of West Milford's Nobility Home Inspection Services. But for homeowners selling their home, a home inspection doesn't have to ...

Six have applied for Dist. 17 County Commission seat - Clarksville Leaf Chronicle

Clarksville Real Estate - Mon, 07/01/2013 - 04:40

Six have applied for Dist. 17 County Commission seat
Clarksville Leaf Chronicle
CLARKSVILLE, TENN. — Six people have applied to for the vacant District 17 County Commission seat, which will be filled next Monday by a majority vote of commissioners. Jeremy Bowles resigned the seat on May 6, citing his need to focus on his family ...

Now That KS Licensing is Gone

Inter Nachi - Mon, 07/01/2013 - 03:32
This PM several people sent me an email sent out by the Kansas group called KAREI ........ Roughly 57 inspectors in Kansas.

For general info, when the push for licensing got heated several years ago, 4 ASHI inspectors in Wichita incorporated themselves as KAREI (Kansas Association of Real Estate Inspectors). They got the Wichita ASHI group and 1 of the 2 ASHI Chapters in KC to sign most of their members up in KAREI (and at least in KC the ASHI chapter paid most or all of their members dues into KAREI) AND overnight here was the NEW voice of home inspectors in Kansas AND they went along with the Realtors attempt to license us. SO the Realtors looked very favorably on them.

FYI - There was already a state home inspectors group in Kansas called KARCI (Kansas Association of Residential & Commercial Inspectors) that was about 45 members strong AND made up of iNACHI, ASHI, NAHI and non affiliated inspectors BUT they opposed licensing UNLESS the real estate community could show a demonstrated need (the Realtors could never show that SO that never happened). KARCI opposed licensure, so the Realtors and KAREI / ASHI opposed KARCI.

Now that Kansas licensing is dead, read the attached email the KAREI group is sending out to home inspectors. It kinda looks like they want to MAKE themselves a legit REGISTRATION and VOICE and SoP for all Home Inspectors in Kansas AND once more try to CONTROL Kansas inspectors

Interesting .................


PS ........... Almost forgot after the original 3 man SoP committee (1 each of ASHI, NAHI & NACHI inspectors) got done spending a month or 2 working up the Kansas SoP / COE, etc and sent it to Jeff Barnes / Mr Barnes apparently did not like their work so he and the KAREI president Kerry Parham rewrote them. If you look at the COE for example they basically changed 2 sentences in ASHI's national COE and called it the Kansas COE.

Simplicity at work .................
Attached Files Kerry Parham KHIRB Lttr.doc (24.5 KB)

House built in 2003

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 23:57
See attached. Coils have been replace once already, these are current pictures. All plumbing fixtures replaced including water heater and copper piping to water heater. What do you think?
Attached Thumbnails          

Now taking Nominations for Best Defect Pictures for July

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 19:48
Now is the time here, to submitt your Best Defect Pictures for July.

Good luck to all and thanks to the ones that participate. :):D

Happy birthday Paul Abernathy.

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 16:32
Happy birthday.

Bad roof ?

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 14:02
Im selling my house. Its approximately 88 years old. Inspection day comes, I know theres nothing wrong with it, minus a few minor issues.

The roof is 21 years old. I noted that on the disclosure. There are two areas, approximately 3 square feet, each, that have been repaired. I live in central NY. Over the last week, we received 2 plus inches of rain. Half of the attic is finished. No water spots, no wet rafters, AT ALL.

Home inspector, decides to scare the twenty something year old girl buying the house by saying the entire roof is bad and needs to be replaced.

Not sure if i can load pics of it, if i can i will. Ill load the links to photobucket site. Please let me know if you think im wrong about the roof still being serviceable.


http://i1319.photobucket.com/albums/...ps15fffbd6.jpg

http://i1319.photobucket.com/albums/...ps33c9abc1.jpg

Thanks for your time...

Should I Buy An Extended Warranty?

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 12:22
Thread purpose: To discuss the value and your experiences with extended warranties. Let's see if we can all have a civil discussion.

I'll start with this article.

6 Reasons Why You Should Never Purchase an Extended Warranty

Quote: Personally, I cannot think of one instance where purchasing an extended warranty is a good idea. There are simply too many downsides to make them worth the money, and furthermore, there are other forms of purchase protection that offer sufficient peace of mind.

Single Family in Nashville, TN asking $265,900

FSBO Brentwood - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 08:33
2129 Branch Oak Tr Nashville, TN 37214 3380 sq. ft., 4 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, 6 photo(s)

Help on what this might be

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 02:05
Inspected a house yesterday and found this where the return air was in the wall. No elevated moisture located, is this mold or dust?
Attached Thumbnails  

Vendor e-mail

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 02:03
Got this unsolicited e-mail the other day:

"Dear Mr Decker,

Here at EMFADR we have developed a paint for the building industry that will neutralise the harmful exposure to the low frequency electromagnetic fields found in everyday living including homes, offices, schools, hospitals etc.

Our combating Electromagnetic Field “ADR” technology differs from the conventional electromagnetic field shields (which are based on conductive media and need grounding) because it is unique in its make-up and will only block the low frequency EMF radiation and this allows for the body and the earths own natural magnetic fields to still function. The ADR solutions are the first of its kind, both ground breaking and award winning in several countries across the world.

The ADR paint (ADR SOL) will be used in the construction of (please visit this link: http://wolnemiasto.pl/en/index.php ) a new 1,200 strong apartment community complex here is Poland. If I may, I’d like to discuss the possibilities of our ADR SOL product in a mutual business relationship with yourself.


Kind regards,"

I responded to him that:

1) His e-mail was unsolicited spam. Been getting a lot of that, recently.
2) That low frequency EMF is not harmful. The EMF fields that the general public comes into contact with can not cause harm. So much for the scares about living too close to transformers or getting cancer from cell phones.
3) This paint, most probably, doesn't work, unless it has a very high conductive metal content and is grounded.

I recieved back a response "You have got to be kidding me.".

I then responded that I was a trained Radiation Safety Officer for a major University and I was not kidding.

Have not hear back from him yet.

Any other scams out there that are soliciting Home Inspectors?

Service disconnecting means requirements, Illinois electrical code?

Inter Nachi - Sun, 06/30/2013 - 01:05
The seller of a house I inspected this week called, with my clients permission, to inform me the city inspector told them they had to Replace the service panel because it did not have a Single breaker/disconnect to shut-off all electricity.

The inspector, in writing, said that according to Illinois electrical code the electrical service in a home requires the system to have One breaker/disconnect to shut-off all power in the home.

First, I'm not aware of any State of Illinois electrical code. Second the code this city goes by is the 2011 NEC, as posted on their website.

So is anyone aware of any "updated" code requirements of service disconnecting means at a single family dwelling that limit it to no more than One means of disconnect?

Or is no more than six disconnects for each service still the rule?

By the way the power at this 100 amp FP panel could be shut-off with four throws.

Did I break it? ...Heat pump

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 22:47
Was testing a heat pump on the cooling cycle today on an older home. There was no manufacturer's plate on the unit but I would guess it was at least 15 to 20 years old. It looked like a Nordyne unit

This is a vacant house that has been vacant for about a year

I let the cooling run for about 30 minutes or more. I decided to shut down the cooling and test the emergency heat....I turned the thermostat to the "off" position... A few seconds later I turned the thermostat to the "Emergency" setting from the "Normal" setting on this older thermostat...then I turned the thermostat from "off" to "heat"....and turned the thermostat up over 80 degrees....

Buyer was outside and says he heard a muffled sound like a muffled backfire....Unit stopped working and would not re-start.....Did I break this unit?
Syndicate content