News

interperting infrared images

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 21:41
I'm curious if anyone see a difference between batt insulation and icynene insulation when installed in the wall cavity at the floor and ceiling. Normally I see a thin brighter image along the baseboard/floor and at the wall/ceiling point with it hot outside and cool inside with batt insulation. Wondering if anyone seeing the same thing when icynene is used or does it seal better.

Help! wood beam crack - dangerous or checking?

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 18:07
Hi! I was working on my basment when i found these cracks and my Two support beam. I never noticed them before because the beam were surrounded by wall. Both of them has those kind of cracks. They are 8x8 and the biggesr crack goes 2 inch and half deep at the worst place.

What you guys think? I'm kind of woried right now!

http://i44.tinypic.com/2d2ewir.jpg
http://i41.tinypic.com/4zyfdi.jpg

course #24836

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 16:20
Ben Gromicko from Internachi informed me of a TREC approved report writing course, but I can not find it....

Single Family in Nashville, TN asking $202,000

FSBO Brentwood - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 08:37
6076 Bradford Hills Drive Nashville, TN 37211 1617 sq. ft., 3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, 15 photo(s)

Heat pump

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 03:17
Anyone have a heat pump paragraph for a report to share? Thank you.

Jayfro cap in driveway

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 03:15
I inspected a 1992 home today and found a cap in the middle of the driveway that was labeled "Jayfro" (see picture)

Can anyone identify what the purpose of this is?
Attached Thumbnails  

Electrical Code Question from Ontario

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 01:49
Not sure if I posted correctly, so here's a second attempt:

Is it possible in Ontario to use existing terminals in pot lights to connect a group of Halo H99 ICT (purchased at Home Depot, manufactured by Cooper Lighting) pot lights to cables entering each box? Thanks in advance for any help.

AHIT wind mit class

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 01:49
Just wondering if anyone has taken the AHIT $99 wind mit class. I seen they offer a class and just want to learn more then what I learned from taking the nachi wind mit class.

Ontario Electrical Code: Halo potlights

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 01:19
Hi,

Finishing my basement and wondering if it is possible in Ontario to use existing terminals in poltights to connect a group of potlights (Halo H99 ICT, purchased at Home Depot)to cables entering each box. Thank you in advance for any advice you can provide.

Ideal Sure Test Analyzer

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 00:53
Hi guys, I am a previous member that unfortunately stopped doing inspections. I have an Ideal sure test analyzer 61-165 for sale and wanted to post it here where I know someone will get use out of it. It is like new and works flawlessly, I bought it about 3mo. before I shut down. I'm asking $215. which will include shipping to anywhere in the US. You can see my add http://dayton.craigslist.org/tls/3880332650.html

If your local its only $200. If anyone is interested, just let me know.

Thanks and I miss the interactons here.

Tim

Nick Gromicko Google Ads

Inter Nachi - Sat, 06/29/2013 - 00:42
Can you explain this advertisement? Does iNACHI have a CPI?

http://www.nachi.org/landing/17136?city=Atlanta#contact

Home Inspector way...

Inter Nachi - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 19:24
...of taking a sauna :shock:
This attic had no ventilation at all. I popped my head in there and thought I was back in Finland getting ready for a sauna.
Not quite as hot as I like mine (add about 70 degrees F), but just about as humid.
Ah... memories... :D
Attachment 66451
Attached Thumbnails  

Sinkholes and armadillos

Inter Nachi - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 16:37
O.k. I got one...A recent tampa home inspection. 1995 home, occupied, very near tampa river trail.

Bad Drainage, condensate line, animal burrow.

Can I keep sinkhole out of this narrative. We have had a deluge of rain recently.

"The foundation has an area where soil erosion is undermining the foundation
Indications include but not limited to

There are cracked kitchen tiles and a minor settlement crack located on the same side wall in the garage, also the kitchen cabinet appears to have dropped a bit. Damage appears to be occurring because of the undermining.

The meter was checked at the end of the inspection with the client. We had a reasonable expectation that the water was not being used, However the dial indicating water flow was spinning. A professional licensed plumber with experience in detecting slab leaks should be consulted before inspection contingency expires.

The inspector was unable to determine the cause of the undermining of the foundation. Possible scenarios include poor drainage, condensate line draining to close to the foundation, Slab leak aka plumbing installed in the slab on grade foundation or my favorite one, Animal burrow (armadillo) with drainage water filling up the undermined area."

Looking forward to the responses...
Tom
Attached Thumbnails  

REAL Trends Announces 2013 Top Thousand - Wall Street Journal

Clarksville Real Estate - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 16:08

REAL Trends Announces 2013 Top Thousand
Wall Street Journal
The Minnesota Real Estate Team, RE/MAX Advantage Plus, Lakeville, MN 3. Team Rasmus, Rasmus Real Estate Group, Atlanta, GA 4. The Creig Northrop Team, Long & Foster, Clarksville, MD 5. Ronnie & Cathy Matthews' Team, RE/MAX Legends, Spring, ...

and more »

Single Family in Smyrna, TN asking $289,000

FSBO Brentwood - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 08:36
5511 Stonewood Dr Smyrna, TN 37167 2455 sq. ft., 4 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, 6 photo(s)

Transparent logo

Inter Nachi - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 08:30
Is there a transparent CMI logo to use for websites? If not, could we get one?

Anyone have a ukulele?

Inter Nachi - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 03:58
I am looking for a good to great ukulele. At a good to great to free price. Let me know if you have one in decent shape you wish to get rid of.

I would trade a decent looking electrical meter of some sort I aquired. Electrical stuff is not my forte and this is one designed for REAL electricians. I can post info on it if you are interested. I am almost certain the tool would be worth more than the uke.

Contact me anytime if interested. I'll be away from the phone from this Sat morn till the following Monday but if interested let me know right away as I may purchase one on vacation if no one is interested.:) I would also be interested in the yamaha guitalele list price $100

Age of Peerless Boiler

Inter Nachi - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 02:09
Can anyone date this boiler for me Model # EC-04-150S
Ser.# EC-016220-0796
I'm thinking July of 1996?

How long to post CE credits on dbpr?

Inter Nachi - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 01:17
I did two exams on Nachi on 6-15 and 6-18. Does anyone know how long it takes to show up on dbpr site? Is it usually automatic or do you have to submit?

Thanks,
Jonathan

PVC plumbing on exterior concrete deck surface

Inter Nachi - Fri, 06/28/2013 - 00:15
This person plumbed a whirlpool tub in a sunroom attached to the back of his house. The pvc runs out of the stucco from the master bath and then around the house at the base of the stucco then to the tub. Is it ok to have pvc outside on the concrete? If it's ok, I know it should at least be strapped.
Attached Thumbnails    
Syndicate content